Amtrak Statement from CEO William Flynn on the Passing of Larry Willis, President, AFL-CIO Transportation Trades Division

November 30, 2020

WASHINGTON – “The entire Amtrak team joins me as we mourn the loss of Larry Willis, a true champion of the nation’s transportation network and the workers who make it possible. Larry was a strong advocate for Amtrak and believed in the need for a robust, modern, well-funded national passenger rail network for the nation. Our thoughts are with Larry’s family, his TTD and labor colleagues, and all of those in the transportation industry that were touched by Larry’s deep passion and fierce advocacy for transportation workers during this difficult time.”

On Wednesday, Dec. 2, at 12:00 noon Eastern Time, 11:00 a.m. Central Time, 10:00 a.m. Mountain Time, and 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time, engineers across the Amtrak network are directed sound their locomotive horns for a long blast, if operating conditions permit, to honor the legacy of TTD President Larry Willis.

For More Information

Christina Leeds

Shares